The Workover

Friends I’ve been around the old game longer than the back nine at Firestone and seen a lot of things, both impressive and repulsive.

But just the other evening I witnessed an unrivaled “free-stuff” flogging of the most embarrassing kind…now I have seen The Workover before but this event was like Palmer driving the first green at Cherry Hills…stunning in it’s boldness.
An executive at a major golf apparel company was enjoying a crisp clear evening on the back porch of my favorite golf club recently. He was there enjoying a cigar with friends after a long day on the golf course.
.
Then it began. You see whenever a chap with the ability to send a free shirt or two is in the house the scene turns to hunter and prey…seen it 100 times…The Workover was in full swing.
A foursome of ordinary guys from the Midwest were there also. When they saw what was happening, that is the executive taking down an address so he could be relieved of some of his finest product (no charge of course), the boys from The Land of All Things Frozen sprung into action…nothing was going to stand between them and a gratis 3-button pique’ or two…nothing.
.
So the leader of the hunting party actually says “You know I bought three of your shirts from my pro back in Bloomington (or wherever) and the buttons popped off” Huh?
.
Now I’ve owned a few golf shirts in my day (as you have) and aside from the handmedown Izods my Mom had washed 456 times in my youth, I’ve never had a button pop off a golf shirt…have you?
.
But of course it worked. The nice executive remarked this was of course unacceptable and he would be happy to send the victim of this most horrible of apparel malfunctions a package of replacements upon his return to the office.
.
Mission Accomplished!
.
Then in parting he said “Rick write down your address and I’ll send you some shirts” to which I replied, “I buy your shirts from my pro and as soon as a button pops off I’ll call you”
.
Man O Man.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Workover

  1. Tim Shea says:

    Some of the shirts I stole from your closet have malfunctioned. When can I come over to replace them?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Fried Shrimp The best
    1 lb large (21 to 25 count) shrimp, peeled*
    1 cup flour seasoned with lots of ground black pepper and a pinch of salt
    1 cup egg wash (3 large eggs plus 3 tbsp water, very lightly beaten)
    4 cups panko (Japanese bread crumbs with long, sliverlike shapes that produce a crisper, crunchier crust)
    6 cups peanut oil
    * Devein if you must, but we don’t recommend it; it creates a channel and screws up the breading process.
    TAKE 3 SHALLOW PANS and fill 1 with flour, 1 with egg wash, and 1 with panko. Dredge shrimp in flour, coating them evenly, and gently shake off excess. Thoroughly coat each shrimp with egg wash, then place in breading, pressing down lightly and covering all sides. To dry out and bind crumbs (so they don’t fall off in the oil), let shrimp rest at room temperature for about 30 minutes. Place about 2 inches of peanut oil in an 8-quart stockpot and heat to 360 degrees. (We like the superfast Thermapen digital probe thermometer, available at thermoworks.com.) Fry shrimp in small batches until golden brown, about 90 seconds to 2 minutes. Drain and serve with lemon wedges and/or cocktail sauce. Serves 2. Bud Light Fly

Leave a comment